71st National Junior Basketball Championship: BFI announces tournament rosters | NBA.com India

Basketball and India

The 71st National Junior Championship kicks off on January 4.

The seven-day tournament will take place at the Basketball Complex near Janjeerwala Chouraha, Race Course Road in Indore until January 10th. This edition comes almost 26 months since the previous one was held at the Patliputra Sports Complex in Patna, Bihar.

MORE: Final results of the 70th National Junior Championship

In the previous edition, the Punjab team led by Princepal Singh won the men’s category while Kerala won the women’s category.

A day before the tournament kicked off, the Indian Basketball Federation released the groups.

What are the groups for the 70th National Juniors?

The competition consists of 26 teams in the women’s category with the defending champions placed in Group A alongside Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan and hosts Madhya Pradesh.

On the other hand, the men’s category comprises 27 teams with the reigning champions classified in Group A alongside Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Maharashtra and Delhi.

In accordance with the circular published by BFI, concerning the age criteria, all players in competition must be born on or after January 1, 2003.

For a history of the winners of this competition from 1997 to 2001, click here.

The opinions on this page do not necessarily reflect those of the NBA or its clubs.

Source link