Afrobasket: Three players based abroad join the national team | The new times

THREE new overseas-based players are set to be added to the U-18 national basketball team heading to the 2022 Afrobasket tournament.

Scheduled for August 4-14 in Antananarivo, Madagascar, the continental showpiece will feature 12 U-18 teams from various African countries that have qualified there, including Rwanda.

After winning their ticket to the tournament last month, the national team is now embarking on preparations for the final tournament and is currently organizing a non-residential camp.

Talk to Sports timetables On Sunday, Yves Murenzi, the head coach of the U-18 national team, said the team would add new faces from abroad, including American strikers Sammy Arsene and Nzungize Rugamba as well as point guard Hervé Hitimana based in Belgium. .

These will join the squad which already has a number of other overseas based players like Prince Kabera, a US based power forward, Brave Rutsindura a center also based in the US, Dick Rutatika as well of the North American country.

When the tournament begins, Mali, two-time winners, will try to keep the trophy to get closer to the seven-time winners, Nigeria, Egypt (5) and Angola (4).

In the previous showpiece played in Cairo, Egypt, Mali defeated Senegal 82-80 while Egypt settled for bronze with a 72-55 victory over Guinea.

Host Madagascar offers two match sites: including the Mahamasina Sports Palace. It is the best sports arena in Antananarivo.

In addition to being the place not only of sporting events, it is where great events are organized due to its facilities and the atmosphere it exudes.

The championship in the men’s category has produced stars who have marked not only the African continent but also Europe and America.

Former African U-18 Championships in previous editions of the tournament have seen players like Malian Waly Coulibaly (2006), Egyptian Amr Gendy (2008), Egyptian Aly Mohamed Ahmed (2010), Egyptian Ehab Amin (2012), Angolan Gerson Domingos (2014), Angolan Sílvio De Sousa (2016), Malian Siriman Kanoute (2018) and Bourama Coulibaly (2020).

The teams qualified for this year’s African U18 Championship so far include Senegal, Egypt, Mali, Guinea, Madagascar, Rwanda and Angola. The other qualified teams will be announced later.

Meanwhile, the Rwanda Basketball Federation (Ferwaba) recently confirmed that the U-18 national team is looking for friendlies ahead of the continental tournament.

“We are looking for friendly matches with countries like Egypt, Tunisia and Turkey before entering the tournament,” said Ferwaba executive director Landry Jabo.

[email protected]