Bucks’ Jrue Holiday wins 2021-22 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award

Bucks guard Jrue Holiday has been voted the best teammate in the NBA by his peers.

NEW YORK –NBA players have selected Milwaukee Bucks guard Jrue Holiday as the recipient of the 2021-22 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award, the NBA announced today.

Presented annually since the 2012-13 season, the award recognizes the player considered the best teammate based on selfless play, leadership on and off the court as a mentor and role model for other NBA players, as well as than his commitment and dedication to the team.

This is the second Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award for Holiday, who also earned the honor in the 2019-20 season as a member of the New Orleans Pelicans. He is the first player to win the award more than once.

A panel of league leaders selected 12 finalists (six from each conference) for the Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award. Current NBA players selected the winner from the list of finalists, with more than 300 players submitting their votes.

In addition to Holiday, the finalists were Chicago Bulls forward DeMar DeRozan, Utah Jazz forward Rudy Gay, Denver Nuggets forward Jeff Green, Miami Heat forward Udonis Haslem, Golden State Warriors Andre Iguodala, Memphis Grizzlies center forward Jaren Jackson Jr., Cleveland Cavaliers forward Kevin Love, Dallas Mavericks center Boban Marjanović, Phoenix Suns guard Chris Paul, Toronto guard Raptors Fred VanVleet and Boston Celtics forward Grant Williams.

Holiday received 964 points (39 first-place votes) in the NBA Player Poll. Marjanović finished in second place with 936 points (48 first-place votes). DeRozan finished in third place with 898 points (34 first-place votes). Players received 10 points for each vote for first place, seven points for each vote for second place, five points for each vote for third place, three points for each vote for fourth place, and one point for each vote for fifth place.

Holiday will be presented with a special edition 75and Anniversary Memorial Trophy today to celebrate the honor, given in addition to the Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year trophy, which he will later receive. The commemorative trophy, consisting of a solid crystal basketball, features the NBA 75 logo laser engraved and suspended from its center.

A 13-year NBA veteran, Holiday was selected by NBA players as the winner of the 2020-21 NBA Sportsmanship Award last season. He was also a finalist for the inaugural Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Social Justice Champion Award, which was presented in June 2021. In 2020, Holiday and his wife, Lauren, a former United States women’s national soccer team player , launched the Jrue and Lauren Holiday Social Justice Impact Fund to address socio-economic inequalities in several communities.

Holiday, 31, has averaged 18.3 points, 6.8 assists, 4.5 rebounds and 1.61 steals in 32.9 minutes in 67 games this season. Last season, he helped lead Milwaukee to its first NBA championship in 50 years. An NBA All-Star selection in the 2012-13 season, Holiday was named to the NBA All-Defensive Team three times.

The Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award is named after Jack Twyman and Maurice Stokes, whose historic friendship transcended their Hall of Fame accomplishments. Twyman and Stokes were teammates for the Rochester/Cincinnati Royals from 1955-58. permanently paralyzed. He was diagnosed with post-traumatic encephalopathy, a brain injury that damaged his motor control center. Stokes was supported for the rest of his life by Twyman, who became his legal guardian and attorney.

Twyman helped organize the NBA’s Maurice Stokes Memorial Basketball Game, which raised money for Stokes’ medical care and, after Stokes’ death in 1970 at age 36, for other players in need. In 2004, after years of lobbying by Twyman, Stokes was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Twyman, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1983, died in 2012.

Below are the vote totals for the 2021-22 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award. The poll was compiled by independent accounting firm Ernst & Young LLP.

Below are the vote totals for the 2021-22 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award. The poll was compiled by independent accounting firm Ernst & Young LLP.

Player (team) Votes for 1st place (10 points) Votes for 2nd place (7 points) Votes for 3rd place (5 points) Votes for 4th place (3 points) Votes for 5th place (1 point) Total points
Jrue Holiday (Milwaukee) 39 41 39 23 23 964
Boban Marjanovic (Dallas) 48 22 35 34 25 936
DeMar DeRozan (Chicago) 34 41 34 25 26 898
Jeff Green (Denver) 26 31 26 33 22 728
Chris Paul (Phoenix) 28 25 21 26 26 664
Udonis Haslem (Miami) 22 27 27 30 19 653
Fred Van Vleet (Toronto) 24 19 14 33 38 580
Kevin Love (Cleveland) 21 18 31 18 35 580
Andre Iguodala (Golden State) 17 22 23 25 14 528
Grant Williams (Boston) 21 16 15 22 29 492
Rudy Gay (Utah) 6 28 28 20 35 491
Jaren Jackson Jr. (Memphis) 20 16 13 17 14 442

Below is the all-time list of winners of the Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award.

2021-22 – Jrue Holiday, Milwaukee Bucks (Vote)

2020-21 – Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers (vote)

2019-20 – Jrue Holiday, New Orleans Pelicans (Vote)

2018-19 – Mike Conley, Memphis Grizzlies (Vote)

2017-18 — Jamal Crawford, Minnesota Timberwolves (Vote)

2016-17 — Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks (Vote)

2015-16 – Vince Carter, Memphis Grizzlies

2014-15 – Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

2013-14 – Shane Battier, Miami Heat

2012-13 – Chauncey Billups, Los Angeles Clippers